Types of Fibroids

Fibroids are commonly classified based on their size and location relative to the uterus.¹⁻² There are four types of fibroids: intramural, subserosal, submucosal, and pedunculated. Each are explained below so you can understand the difference between the types of fibroids. Most women with uterine fibroids have more than one type of fibroid.¹

Intramural Fibroids

Intramural fibroids, the most common, grow in the wall of the uterus. They may eventually enlarge to distort the uterine cavity or serosal surface. Some fibroids may be transmural and extend from the serosal to the mucosal surface.

Subserosal Fibroids

Subserosal fibroids grow on the outside of the uterus. As they grow larger, they can cause pain due to their size or pressure put on nearby organs.

Submucosal Fibroids

Submucosal fibroids grow just underneath the uterine lining and can crowd into the uterus cavity and lead to heavy bleeding and other more serious complications.

Pedunculated Fibroids

Pedunculated fibroids grow on small stalks inside or outside the uterus.


[1] Stewart, E. A. (2001). Uterine fibroids. The Lancet, 357(9252), 293–298.

[2] Munro, M. G., Critchley, H. O. D., & Fraser, I. S. (2011). The FIGO classification of causes of abnormal uterine bleeding in the reproductive years. Fertility and Sterility, 95(7), 2204–2208.e3.


(310) 906-2270


(310) 209-2113




M-F, 9am-5pm


1082 Glendon Ave

Los Angeles, CA 90024


505 S. Virgil Ave. #101

Los Angeles, CA 90020


575 E. Hardy Street, #322

Inglewood, CA 90301


1411 S. Garfield Ave. #303

Alhambra, CA 91801

The Fibroid Specialists of University Vascular are leading providers of uterine fibroid embolization (UFE), the least invasive treatment option for women suffering from uterine fibroids. Our physicians have devoted their expertise to helping women overcome fibroids without hysterectomy or major surgery. 

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Grey Circle
OnChart patient acquisition logo white

Powered by

Schedule Your Visit


Call us any time

M-F, 9am-5pm


Email us or use this message box


(310) 209-2113

Have your health records faxed

© 2020 by OnChart. All Rights Reserved. Please review our  Terms of Use.